Skip to main content

Extract from Call of the Raven
– by Wilbur Smith and Corban Addison

Call of the Raven is the prequel to
A Falcon Flies


Extract Call of the Raven


‘The right of the cat over the mouse, of the strong over the weak.
The natural law of existence.’
Mungo St John, A Falcon Flies

The son of a wealthy plantation owner and a doting mother, Mungo St John is accustomed to the wealth and luxuries his privilege has afforded him. That is until he returns from university to discover his family ruined, his inheritance stolen and his childhood sweetheart, Camilla, taken by the conniving Chester Marion. Fuelled by anger, and love, Mungo swears vengeance and devotes his life to saving Camilla – and destroying Chester.

Camilla, trapped in New Orleans, powerless to her position as a kept slave and suffering at the hands of Chester’s brutish behaviour, must learn to do whatever it takes to survive.

As Mungo battles his own fate and misfortune to achieve the revenge that drives him, and regain his power in the world, he must question what it takes for a man to survive when he has nothing, and what he is willing to do in order to get what he wants.

An action-packed and gripping adventure by bestselling author, Wilbur Smith, about one man’s quest for revenge, the brutality of slavery in America and the imbalance between humans that can drive – or defeat – us.


Call of the Raven



‘Wilbur Smith is one of those benchmarks against whom others are compared.’ – The Times

‘Best historical novelist – I say Wilbur Smith, with his swashbuckling novels of Africa. The bodices rip and the blood flows. You can get lost in Wilbur Smith and misplace all of August.’ – Stephen King

‘Smith will take you on an exciting, taut and thrilling journey you will never forget.’ The Sun

‘A thundering good read is virtually the only way of descrbing Wilbur Smith’s books.’ – Irish Times


Click here for an extract of the book


Author Biography

Wilbur Smith (Author)

Wilbur Smith is a worldwide phenomenon. His readership has built up over fifty-five years of writing.

Born in Central Africa in 1933, Wilbur became a full-time writer in 1964 following the success of When the Lion Feeds, and has since published over forty global bestsellers, including the Courtney Series, the Ballantyne Series, the Egyptian Series, the Hector Cross Series and many successful standalone novels, all meticulously researched on his numerous expeditions worldwide.

Wilbur Smith is a global phenomenon, author of 43 bestsellers – one of the most successful authors of our time

He has sold over 130 million novels worldwide and been translated into 26 languages.

Links to Wilbur Smith’s bestselling Ballantyne Series – the origin story or Mungo St John and a prequel to A Falcon Flies. 2020 is 40 years since the publication of A Falcon Flies.

Wilbur Smith’s new website launched in 2018 focussing on growing the world around Wilbur’s writing and reaching new readers.


Jonathan Ball logo


You’ve Earned It / YEI (,
the online retirement platform
for South African over-60s


  • Discounts, savings and benefits for baby boomers, seniors, pensioners and retirees

  • Informative and relevant articles geared at the senior market

  • Fab competitions

  • News/views/fun

Sign up for the FREE fortnightly
You’ve Earned It Newsletter HERE
and become a You’ve Earned It / YEI member



Relevant articles:

YEI Book Reviews


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.